36 New Jersey Towns Have Preemptively Banned Legal Marijuana

Even before New Jersey lawmakers have completed drafting a cannabis legalization bill, 36 towns in the state have preemptively banned legal marijuana.

Legislators in the Garden State are currently working on legislation that would legalize the recreational-use and sale of cannabis. Most drafts have included provisions allowing municipalities to ban marijuana businesses, and so far, nearly 40 towns have done so.

In Atlantic County, the towns of Brigantine and Pleasantville have already passed ordinances banning pot businesses. Towns in Bergen County that have done the same include: Carlstadt, East Rutherford, Franklin Lakes, Garfield, Hasbrouck Heights, Lodi, Mahwah, Midland Park, Woodcliff Lake, and Wyckoff Township. Upper Saddle River, also in Bergen County, passed an ordinance opposing cannabis legalization but has not enacted a ban on cannabis businesses.

North Caldwell in Essex County has already said no to recreational cannabis, while in Hudson County, Secaucus, Union City, and Weehawken have as well.

The towns of Cranbury and Old Bridge in Middlesex County have also enacted preemptive bans on marijuana businesses. Spotswood also opposes legalization, but has not outlawed recreational cannabis businesses.

In Monmouth County, the list includes Hazlet, Oceanport, Upper Freehold, Wall, and the town of West Long Branch.

In Morris County, Chatham Township has

Read More Here…

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Bud Digest

Scroll to Top